A Lion with Teeth

Diving into the Dandelion

“It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child.”
–Pablo Picasso

A child is like an extraterrestrial.  Or, at least, my idea of one.  The newness of everything it comes into contact with on this planet describes an experience different from what we adults are typically capable of, or even of recalling to some extent.

The first dandelion:  to a young child, a toddler perhaps, it can be a hard-hitting piece of art.  I still have a clear memory of that primal encounter.  It shocked me with its yellowness, its brilliance exploding before my eyes and reverberating throughout my being.  This was love.  I cling to this early impression with some sense of loss……Of innocence?  Naiveté?

Here on the other side, the grown-up one, there’s so little patience for this plant as to inspire pathos.  I could be accused of ‘lionizing’ but I wouldn’t be the first.  The name itself derives from the French, dent-de-lion, or, tooth of the lion.  Granted, this is in reference to the shape of the leaves.  But it is a powerful source of nutrition and medicine.  The greens are purifying to the blood and high in minerals and vitamins.  Both the leaves and the roots have been used traditionally for problems with the liver, kidneys, and stomach.  It is anti-inflammatory and also possibly anti-carcinogenic.  And you can’t beat the price.

The roasted root can be found in coffee substitutes.  I once read (somewhere?!) about an application for the dried, unroasted root which was quite interesting.  It promised to thicken milk to a cream-like texture.  I tried it and it worked very well.  But then, repeated attempts had no effect.  This is definitely worth more research.  And some day, perhaps I’ll try my hand at dandelion wine, which is made with a thousand or so blossoms.  That shouldn’t be too hard to find.

Dandelion Leaves

The leaves are the most commonly used part.   They resemble, and are closely related to, chicory and endive.  They may be steamed or sautéed with garlic and olive oil.  Here I have added them to a composed salad……
Endive
Asparagus, steamed
Avocado
Dandelion greens, chopped
Pine nuts
Dressing of oil, vinegar, minced garlic, salt, pepper

Composed Salad with Dandelion Greens

Dandelion (Taraxacum)

Dandelion

Dandelion

Make a Wish!

This entry was posted in DANDELIONS, salad, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Lion with Teeth

  1. I have a childhood memory of Italian immigrants travelling into my almost 100-percent Jewish neighbourhood of Bathurst Manor in northern Toronto to pick unwanted dandelions from our sea of suburban lawns. Little did I know that one day I would move downtown to Little Italy and enjoy salads of dandelion leaves myself.

  2. Maureen says:

    My Italian sewing teacher describes weekends still, spent picking wild greens by highways on the outskirts of Toronto.

Leave a Reply

